Ayo B, no more Mr. Cee?

Image

So, as I’m sure most of you fellow New Yorker’s know, Mr. Cee has once again been caught up in scooping up an undercover cop posing as a prostitute (no big whoop at this point right?). What you may not know is that on September 11th, Mr. Cee said his goodbye’s to not just Hot 97, but radio as a whole. For those of you who don’t know, Mr. Cee ( Calvin Lebrun) has been part of Hot 97 since 93′ and has been instrumental in the careers of such artists as the Notorious B.I.G. and Big Daddy Kane among others. On Wednesday, September 11th, Mr. Cee officially announced his resignation from the air waves.  “I am officially resigning from Hot 97 today. I went through a lot in the past two years and I’ve tried to rise above those situations, I have tried to move forward from these situations and unfortunately every time I try to move forward, it’s like I take one step forward and then two steps back, and I’m hurting the people who are closest to me, which is my Hot 97 fam.” said Mr. Cee with Biggie’s Hypnotize playing in the background. “Everybody knows I love doing this radio thing. I’ve been at Hot 97 since 1993 and I live, breathe, sleep radio. The last thing that I wanna do is hurt the Hot 97 family, so I have decided; not Ebro, not management, nobody, but me Mister Cee; I have decided that it’s time for me to move on and it’s time for me to take time out to take care of myself.” While everyone has their opinions of Mr. Cee’s conduct off air, the fact remains that Mr. Cee (also known as the Finisher) has had a huge effect on not just Hot 97, but Hip Hop as a whole, and for that, He’ll be missed. Fair seas and traveling winds Mr. Cee, hopefully we’ll see you again someday, just…not in a back alley with male prostitutes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

